Groceries
WRITING PROMPT #4: Grocery Store
JUST SOME RANDOM THOUGHTS ON GROCERY SHOPPING-
*I have a set journey at the grocery store. Dry goods, meats, freezer, produce, snack/cookie section, and end with bread. The system never changes. Going to a different store is stressful because my route is ruined. Recently, my husband has decided he prefers Walmart over our usual store and I can't handle it. Why would you shop there when we have a perfect path at WinCo?
*Seven years ago I watched a friend write a grocery list and have written mine the same way ever since. She folds a landscape paper into thirds and writes her list according to section. It is probably the most organized thing I do in my life.
*I talk to myself at the store. Like a lot. Once I went to the store with an acquaintance and was teased mercilessly because I sang along to the store radio... I didn't even realize I was doing it. Some people are just loud shoppers, I guess. At least with a baby I always have someone to talk to at the store.
*I love seeing what other people have in their carts.
*One of my pet peeves is when I'm in the car and a pedestrian just walks out in front of me at the store and doesn't give a "thank you" wave. I could've run you over but didn't. You should be grateful! If there's no wave, I will obnoxiously say, "you're welcome!" Barry's biggest pet peeve is when people don't take their basket to the cart return. He says it's a good sign of how selfish someone is. (But if you have babies or a disability, you are exempt from judgement)
*My mom has always chatted with the checker as if they've been best friends for life. That is something I love about my mom and have always tried to emulate. It is one of the first things Barry said he loved about me when we were dating.
*Sometimes, I fantasize about being a store greeter when I'm old. And sometimes I irrationally fantasize that someone will take my picture and I'll become one of those "people who shop at Walmart" memes.
*If I complete a grocery trip for seven people, I deserve a reward. "No Sweet September" has ruined my candy bar prize. Now I have to settle for a Diet Dr. Pepper, which I would've drunk anyway. (But that's a problem to address another month. Not this month, because it's all I have left.)


Comments
Post a Comment